What if | do not have my child’s vaccination record?

Your health care provider should be able to print out an up-to-date copy of
your child’s record. They may be able to fax or mail it directly to your child
care provider. All vaccines given should be recorded by your health care
provider in the Vermont Immunization Registry regardless of where your
child was vaccinated. It is helpful to keep a copy of your child’s immuniza-
tion record.

If you cannot provide a complete vaccination record, your child may be

enrolled for now (provisionally). You will then have six months to fully A Pa ren t’s G u id e to

vaccinate your child. With your permission, your child care provider may

heck th fidential online I ization Registry to determine if 2 2 :
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When will | have to give records to my child care provider? for Chlld Ca re

You will have to give immunization records at enrollment and when your
child care provider requests it, usually in the fall. Vermont law requires

that child care providers submit a yearly report to the Health Department % é

on the immunization status of enrolled children. i E
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What if my child cannot be vaccinated? .'if'
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If your child cannot be vaccinated due to medical reasons, have your
health care provider complete a medical exemption form and give it to
your child care provider. If you have religious or philosophical reasons,
then you may file an exemption form with your child care provider in
place of the immunization record. Be aware that children with exemptions
may not be allowed to attend child care during a disease outbreak.
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Where can | get more information, forms and materials?
=>» All forms are available on the Health Department’s website:
healthvermont.gov —click on the A-Z listing and find
Immunizations
=>» For other questions call your local Health Department office
or contact the Immunization Program at 1-800-640-4374 or

immunizationprogram@ahs.state.vt.us
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Protect your child's health.

Vermont law now requires that all babies and children are vaccinated before entering a licensed or registered child care program.

Infectious diseases such as measles, pertussis (whooping cough) and mumps can spread quickly among babies and children who
haven’t had their shots. That's why it is so important to vaccinate all children according to the recommended schedule.

Which immunizations are required for entry into child care?

Vaccines are safe and effective.

Children who are fully vaccinated by age 2 are protected against 14 . _
diseases. Vaccinated children, in turn, protect others around them. 2 - 3 months 1 each of DTaF, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
When too many people are not vaccinated, life-threatening diseases . .

like whooping cough can spread throughout a community. Vaccines do 4 - 5 months 2 each of DTaF, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
not cause autism, and it is safer to get immunity from a vaccine than 6 — 14 months 3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
from having the disease.

3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio

Is there a recommgnded schedule for child'ren’s vaccination? 15 — 17 months 1 each MMR, Varicella

Yes, the Centers for. Dls.ease Control and l?reventlo.n '(CDC) develops a 14 dleses cadh of Hib amnd Bow

recommended vaccination schedule for children. It is important to follow

this standard schedule for the best protection from diseases. Delaying 3 polio, 3 Hep B, 4 DTaP

vaccinations or following a different schedule is not safe because it puts 18 months - 4 years 1 each of MMR, Varicella

children and people around them at unnecessary risk of disease. You can 14! doses caen of Hib e BEY

find the current schedule on the Health Department’s website. Ask your

health care provider to help you keep track of your child’s vaccinations. DTaP: diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis « Hep B: hepatitis B « Polio « Hib: haemophilus influenzae b

« Varicella: chickenpox « MMR: measles, mumps, rubella « PCV: pneumococcal
* Hepatitis A, rotavirus, and influenza vaccines are also strongly recommended, but not required.

What if | can’t afford to vaccinate my child?

In Vermont, the Health Department provides all recommended child-
hood vaccines to health care providers, free of charge. Providers may
charge a small fee to administer.

Dr. Dynasaur provides low-cost or free health insurance for children. Even
children who are already covered by other insurance may qualify for extra
benefits from Dr. Dynasaur. For more information call Health Access Mem-
ber Services for Green Mountain Care at 1-800-250-8427.




