
Why were the laws passed?

Ephedrine and pseudoephedrine are used 
to make the dangerous drug methampheta-
mine. Products containing these ingredients
can be found in supermarkets, pharmacies,
health food, vitamin and convenience stores. 

Federal law (The Combat Methamphetamine 
Act of 2005 effective April 8, 2006) and 
state law (VT Act Relating to Precursor Drugs
of Methamphetamine, 18 V.S.A. § 4234b
effective September 30, 2006, ) limits the
amount of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine
products that can be purchased.

Possession of less than 9 grams with the
intent to make methamphetamine may
result in imprisonment for not more than 
1 year and/or a $2,000 fine. Possession of 
9 grams or more with the intent to make
methamphetamine may result in imprison-
ment for not more than 5 years and/or a 
fine of $10,000.

Limiting the sales of these products is one
of the most important things that can be
done to limit methamphetamine production,
which can take place in hidden “meth labs.”
Methamphetamine has devastated entire
communities in many other states and
Vermont is working to stay ahead of the
problem. 

Buying Ephedrine &
Pseudoephedrine
Products in Vermont

The purchase of products that contain

ephedrine and pseudoephedrine is now

limited by state and federal law. These

products include common items like

over-the-counter cold medicines, weight

loss and energy enhancing products.

 



How do I buy these products now?

The maximum amounts that can be 
purchased are:
• 3.6 grams during a 24-hour period 
• 9 grams every 30 days

For an adult, 3.6 grams equals 1 box with 
20 tablets of a 12-hour cold medication, or 
3 boxes of 10 tablets. For a child, this would
equal 20 bottles of 1 ounce infant 4-6 hour
cold medicine. 

These products must be displayed in a
locked cabinet or behind-the-counter, 
and can be requested at a sales or 
pharmacy counter. 

When purchasing you will need to:
• Present a state or federal photo ID 

and enter your name and address into 
a logbook.

• Sign the entry in the logbook for your 
purchase.

• Present a prescription from your health
care provider only if you require more
than the maximum daily or 30-day 
limit. You may need prescriptions if 
you are purchasing the products for 
family members that require several 
different dosages.  

What is methamphetamine? 

Methamphetamine is a dangerous and 
illegal drug that is highly addictive. The 
drug affects the central nervous system 
and changes the user’s brain chemistry. 

For more information about methamphetamine go

to http://healthvermont.gov or dial 2-1-1 to reach

Vermont 2-1-1, a statewide information and refer-

ral system (when calling from some cell phones

you may need to dial toll-free 1-866-652-4636).


