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VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Paid:
C?]ISCE#- ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
M.O. #: ' ASBESTOS AND LEAD REGULATORY PROGRAM

Date: P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street
) Burlington, VT 05402

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OF ASBESTOS TRAINING COURSES (rev. 5/09)

Please complete all sections of the application by printing or typing the required information, attaching all required
documentation, completing and enclosing the tax form. Applications submitted without the applicable fee will be returned.
Attach additional sheets as needed. The responsible individual shall sign the application. Contact the Program at (802) 863-
7236 or (800) 439-8550 in Vermont with any questions.

Please submit a check to the Vermont Department of Health for the appropriate annual certification fee in the following categories:
APPLICATIONS MUST BE FILLED OUT COMPLETELY AND LEGIBLY
1) TRAINING ENTITY
Name of Training Provider:

Responsible Individual:
Responsible Individual Title:

Address:
City/Town: State: Zip: Telephone No.:
2) TYPE OF COURSE: Indicate the training to be offered.
INITIAL COURSES ($480.00 each) ANNUAL REFRESHER COURSES ($300.00 each)

Worker Worker Refresher
Contractor/Supervisor Contractor/Supervisor Refresher
Project Designer Project Designer Refresher
Inspector Inspector Refresher
Management Planner Management Planner Refresher
Project Monitor Project Monitor Refresher

Visuals Clearance and Air
Sampling for Project Monitor

3) APPLICATION AND CERTIFICATION INFORMATION If renewal

a.) CHECK ONE: Certification # exp. Date
Certification # exp. Date
INITIAL CERTIFICATION: RENEWAL CERTIFICATION:

b) Have you ever previously applied for training course certification in the State of Vermont? If yes, please specify
type of course, approval applied for and date of application

c¢) Does the courses have EPA or State approval? If so, which Region or State?

4) COURSE SCHEDULING AND LOCATIONS
Please attach a proposed or projected schedule with dates and locations of training course offerings.

5) ATTENDANCE AND INSTRUCTIONS

Number of instructors to conduct course:
Estimated instructor/student ratio for classroom work:
Estimated instructor/student ratio for hands-on work:

6) Submit documentation of adherence to EPA Model Accreditation Plan requirements. Must include:

a) Length of training in days.

b) Amount and type of hands-on training.

c¢) Examination (length, format, and passing score).
d) Topics covered in the course.

e) Handouts distributed during course.



7) Attach a written description of the instruction program to be used for each topic, including teaching methods to be
used, copies of all written materials to be distributed, and include a complete copy of the course manual.

8) Attach names and qualifications of all course instructors. Instructors must have academic and/or field experience in
asbestos abatement.

9) Attach a written description of the type and quantity of equipment to be used for demonstrations and/or hands-on
practice exercises, such as respirators, negative air units, water spray devices, protective clothing, construction
materials, etc. as required by the EPA Model Accreditation Plan.

10) Attach documentation that will show that the number of instructors, the amount of equipment and the facilities are
adequate to provide the students with proper training in accordance with the EPA Model Accreditation Plan.

11) Attach a detailed statement about the development of the examination used in the course.

12) Attach a description of and an example of the numbered certificates issued to students who attend the course and
pass the examination.

13.) ASSOCIATIONS WITH OTHER ASBESTOS RELATED BUSINESSES

Does the applicant, any employee or other individual with financial interests in the applicant have any financial or
professional involvement in any other individual or firm certified under the Regulations for Asbestos Control?
Yes No

14) ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

a) Has your training company ever been notified by any state or federal agency or department that you have been
in violation of, or in non-compliance with any law or regulation regarding asbestos training? Yes No

b) Has your training company ever been found to be in violation of any law or regulation regarding asbestos
training by any state or federal agency or department? Yes No

¢) Are there any outstanding actions or investigations regarding asbestos training initiated by any state or federal
agency or department pending against you? Yes No

If the answer to any of these is yes, even though you may disagree with those actions, provide detailed
information about the notice or action including the agency taking action and copies of enforcement
correspondence. Also include your response to this correspondence, and what procedures have been instituted to
prevent further reoccurrences.

I certify that | have read and understood the Vermont Regulations for Asbestos Control. | further certify that this
application is prepared in conformity with the Vermont Regulations for Asbestos Control and that all information
contained herein, including any supplements attached hereto, is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief.

SIGNATURE OF COURSE DIRECTOR: DATE:

Send completed application to: Vermont Department of Health
Environmental Health
Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program
P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05402

DON’T FORGET TO ENCLOSE THE COMPLETED TAX FORM WITH YOUR APPLICATION!



Applicant’s Statement Regarding Child Support, Taxes,
Unemployment Compensation Contributions
You must answer questions 1, 2, and 3.
Regarding Child Support
Title 15 § 795 requires that: A professional license or other authority to conduct a trade or business may not be issued or renewed unless the person
certifies that he or she is in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with a plan to pay any and all child support payable under a support order
as of the date the application is filed. “Good Standing” means that less than one-twelfth of the annual support obligation is overdue; or liability for any
support payable is being contested in a judicial or quasi-judicial proceeding; or he or she is in compliance with a repayment plan approved by the office
of child support or agreed to by the parties; or the licensing authority determines that immediate payment of support would impose an unreasonable
hardship (15 V.S.A. § 795).

1. You must check one of the three statements below regarding child support regardless whether or not you have children:

O | hereby certify that, as of the date of this application: (a) | am not subject to any support order or (b) | am subject to a support order
and | am in good standing with respect to it, or (c) | am subject to a support order and | am in full compliance with a plan to pay any
and all child support due under that order.

OR

O | hereby certify that | am NOT in good standing with respect to child support dues as of the date of this application and | hereby
request that the licensing authority determine that immediate payment of child support would impose an unreasonable hardship.
Please forward an “Application of Hardship”.

OR
O | hereby certify that 15 VV.S.A. 8 795 is not applicable, because this is a business seeking certification.

Regarding Taxes
Title 32 § 3113 requires that: A professional license or other authority to conduct a trade or business shall not be issued or renewed unless the person
certifies that he or she is in good standing with the Department of Taxes. “Good Standing” means that no taxes are due and payable and all returns have
been filed, the tax liability is on appeal, the taxpayer is in compliance with a payment plan approved by the Commissioner of Taxes, or the licensing
authority determines that immediate payment of taxed would impose an unreasonable hardship (32 V.S.A. § 3113).

2. You must check one of the two statements below regarding taxes:

O | hereby certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that | am in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with a plan
to pay any and all taxes due to the State of Vermont as of the date of this application. (The maximum penalty for perjury is fifteen
years in prison, a $10,000. fine or both).

OR

O | hereby certify that | am NOT in good standing with respect to taxes due to the State of Vermont as of the date of this application
and | hereby request that the licensing authority determine that immediate payment of taxes would impose an unreasonable hardship.
Please forward an “Application of Hardship”.

Regarding Unemployment Compensation Contributions
Title 21 8 1378 requires that: No agency of the state shall grant, issue or renew any license or other authority to conduct a trade or business (including a
license to practice a profession) to, or enter into, extend or renew any contract for the provision of goods, services, or real estate space with any
employing unit unless such employing unit shall first sign a written declaration, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the employing unit is in
good standing with respect to or in full compliance with a plan to pay any and all contributions or payments in lieu of contributions due as of the date
such declaration is made. For the purposes of this section, a person is in good standing with respect to any and all contributions or payments in lieu of
contributions payable if: (1) no contributions or payments in lieu of contributions are due and payable; (2) the liability for any contributions or payments
in lieu of contributions due and payable is on appeal; (3) the employing unit is in compliance with a payment plan approved by the Commissioner; or (4)
in the case of a licensee, the agency finds that requiring immediate payment of contributions or payments in lieu of contributions due and payable would
impose an unreasonable hardship.

3. You must check one of the three statements below regarding unemployment contributions or payments in lieu of unemployment
contribution:

O | hereby certify, under the pains of penalties of perjury, that I am in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with a
payment plan approved by the Commissioner of Employment and Training to pay any and all unemployment contributions or
payments in lieu of unemployment contributions to the Vermont Department of Employment and Training due as of the date of this
application. (The maximum penalty for perjury is 15 years in prison, a $10,000 fine or both).

OR

O 1 hereby certify that | am NOT in good standing with respect to unemployment contributions or payments in lieu of unemployment
contributions due to the Vermont Department of Employment and Training as of the date of this application and | hereby request that
the licensing authority determine that requiring immediate payment of unemployment contributions or payments in lieu of
unemployment contributions would impose an unreasonable hardship. Please forward an “Application of Hardship”.

OR
O | hereby certify that 21 VV.S.A. 8 1378 is not applicable to me because | am not now, nor have | ever been, an employer.

Federal Tax ID Number: - -

*The disclosure of your social security number is mandatory. It is solicited by the authority granted by 42 U.S.C. § 405 (c)(2)(C), and will be used by the
Department of Taxes and the Department of Employment and Training in the administration of Vermont tax laws, to identify individuals affected by such
laws, and by the Office of Child Support.

Statement of Applicant

| certify that the information stated by me in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and that | understand providing false
information or omission of information is unlawful and may jeopardize my license/certification/registration status.

Signature of Applicant: Date:




