What about alternative vaccination schedules?

Some parents follow “alternative” childhood vaccination schedules.
Alternative schedules are not based on any evidence of effectiveness,
they require more shots, and they put children at unnecessary risk of
disease.

What reports will | need to submit?

Each year, between October 1 and January 1, licensed and registered
child care providers must submit to the Health Department a summary
showing the vaccination status of the children in their care. The Health
Department will provide training on how to understand immunization
records, record-keeping and reporting requirements.

How can | help parents who are concerned about the cost of
getting their child vaccinated?

Dr. Dynasaur provides low-cost or free health coverage for children.
Even children who are already covered by health insurance may qualify
for extra benefits from Dr. Dynasaur. For more information about this,
call Health Access Member Services for Green Mountain Care at
1-800-250-8427.

What if | provide after-school care to children?

Keep an immunization record for each child enrolled in school, but do
not include these children in your annual reports. Children enrolled in
K-12 will be reported by the school.

Where can | get more information, forms and materials?
=>» Go to the Health Department’s website: healthvermont.gov
click on the A-Z listing and find Immunizations
=>» Call your local Health Department office or contact
the Immunization Program at 1-800-640-4374 or
immunizationprogram@ahs.state.vt.us
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Help protect the health of children in your care.
Vermont law now requires that all licensed and registered child care providers help make sure young children are vaccinated
against serious diseases. A number of childhood diseases — such as measles, mumps and pertussis (whooping cough) — can

spread quickly among children who haven’t had the proper shots. These diseases can cause serious illness, brain damage,
and even death, especially among the very young. That’s why it's so important that babies and children be fully vaccinated.
This means having all the recommended shots, at the right times.

Vaccines are safe and effective.

Children who are fully vaccinated by age 2 are protected against 14 diseases.

Vaccinated children, in turn, protect others around them. When too many
people are not vaccinated, life-threatening diseases like whooping cough
can spread throughout a community. Vaccines do not cause autism, and it
is safer to get immunity from a vaccine than from having the disease. In
Vermont, the Health Department provides all recommended childhood
vaccines to health care providers, free of charge.

What must | do to comply with the law?

As alicensed or registered child care provider, you must keep records
to show that each child age 2 months and older has been vaccinated
against certain diseases — OR has a signed exemption form. With a parent’s
permission, child care providers will be able to check a child’s record in
the Vermont Immunization Registry.

You can find all the documents you need including record forms and
sample letters on the Health Department’s website at healthvermont.gov.

Which immunizations are required for entry into child care?

Age when enrolling:

Immunizations required:

2 - 3 months 1 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
4 - 5 months 2 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
6 — 14 months 3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV

3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio
1 each MMR, Varicella
1-4 doses each of Hib and PCV

15 - 17 months

3 polio, 3 Hep B, 4 DTaP
1 each of MMR, Varicella
1-4 doses each of Hib and PCV

18 months - 4 years

DTaP: diphtheria, tetanus -lock jaw, pertussis -whooping cough, Hepatitis B, Hib: haemophilus
influenzae, Varicella: chickenpox, MMR: measles, mumps and rubella, PCV: pneumococcal, Polio

Hepatitis A, rotavirus, and influenza vaccines are also strongly recommended, but not required.

What are the exemptions?

Children do not have to be vaccinated if they have a medical exemption
signed by their health care provider - OR if they have a religious or
philosophical exemption signed by a parent or guardian. If a child is not
vaccinated, the signed exemption must be kept on file in place of the
immunization record.

What should | do if a child has not had all of the required vaccines?
If a parent or guardian wants to enroll a child who is not fully vaccinated,
you can either admit the child for now (provisionally) - OR make sure the
correct exemption is on file. Children admitted provisionally must have the
required vaccinations within 60 days. It is your responsibility to notify the
parent or guardian in person or in writing of the vaccines that are needed
within 60 days to be in compliance with the law.



