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STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: Mandatory Reporting 
 
School personnel are required by Vermont law to report suspected abuse or neglect to the Department for 
Children and Families (DCF). Suspected child abuse/neglect shall be reported within 24 hours.  
 
 AUTHORIZATION/LEGAL REFERENCE:  
 
State: 
33 V.S.A. Chapter 49, Child welfare services 
 http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/33/049 
 
Educator Reporting Requirements:  
Memo -From: Cindy Walcott, Deputy Commissioner, Family Services Division Date: July 22, 2015: 
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-memo-dcf-memo-regarding-mandatory-reporting.pdf 
 
Federal: 
42 U.S. Code Chapter 67 – Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment and Adoption Reform 
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/chapter-67 
 
42 U.S. Code § 5101 - Office on Child Abuse and Neglect  
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/5101 
 
REQUIRED SCHOOL NURSE/ASSOCIATE SCHOOL NURSE ROLES:  

 Follow Vermont law about reporting and documenting suspected abuse or neglect. 
o Any mandated reporter who reasonably suspects abuse or neglect of a child shall report in 

accordance with the provisions of section 4914 of this title within 24 hours of the time 
information regarding the suspected abuse or neglect was first received or observed (33 VSA § 
4913(c)). 

o The previous standard (“have reasonable cause to believe” a child has been abused or neglected) 
is no longer in effect. A report now must be made when a mandated reporter “reasonably 
suspects” abuse and neglect. 

o The individual who suspects abuse or neglect must make a report directly; it is no longer 
sufficient to “cause a report to be made”. 

o A report must be made within 24 hours of the time information about suspected abuse or neglect 
was first received or observed. Calling law enforcement is not the same as reporting suspected 
abuse or neglect to FSD [Family Services Division]. You must notify FSD directly. 

o While organizations may have their own policies related to notifying supervisors or management 
about suspected child abuse or neglect, individual mandated reporters are legally required to 
report suspected child abuse and neglect to FSD within 24 hours. Each mandated reporter is 
responsible for making a report on time and is liable if one is not made. No one, including 
supervisors and managers, may prevent a mandated reporter from making a report within the 
required timeframe. (See Memo: above) 

 Document findings according to best nursing practice (see documentation section). 
o Nurses are required to document their interventions in the health record.  

 Become familiar with Vermont Child Abuse Reporting Law and school policy and procedure. 
 

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/33/049
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-memo-dcf-memo-regarding-mandatory-reporting.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/chapter-67
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/5101
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SUGGESTED SCHOOL NURSE/ASSOCIATE SCHOOL NURSE ROLES:  

 Assist the administration in the development, clarification, and implementation of the school 
abuse/neglect policies. 

 Become a member of the school or community Child Protection Team. 

 Advocate and act as a resource for school faculty and staff. 

 Collaborate with school staff regarding obligation to report and remind yearly. 

 [DCF] “strongly recommend[s] that you report as a group — by phone or in writing. The same 24-hour 
time limit applies” (Mandated Reporter). 

 The school nurse can facilitate group reports when more than one professional within the school needs 
to report on the same information or incident. 

 
RESOURCES:  
 
National Association of School Nurses. (2014). Care of Victims of Child Maltreatment: The School Nurse’s Role 
 (Position Statement). Retrieved, August 6, 2015, from 
 http://www.nasn.org/PolicyAdvocacy/PositionPapersandReports/NASNPositionStatementsFullView/tabi
 d/462/smid/824/ArticleID/639/Default.aspx 
 
Vermont Department for Children and Families - http://dcf.vermont.gov/ 

 See FSD Policy 50 for child abuse and neglect definitions: 
http://dcf.staging.vermont.gov//sites/dcf/files/FSD/Policies/50.pdf 

o Abused or Neglected Child: A child whose physical health, psychological growth and 
development or welfare is harmed or is at substantial risk of harm by the acts or omissions of his 
or her parent or other person responsible for the child’s welfare. Also, a child who is sexually 
abused or at substantial risk of sexual abuse by any person and a child who has died as a result 
of abuse or neglect (33 VSA § 4912(1)). 

 
Vermont Child Protection Line; to report child abuse or neglect 24 hours a day, 7 days a week call: 1-800-649-
5285  

 If a child is in immediate danger, dial 911 or call your local police first. Then, call Family Services 
Division to make a report. Calling law enforcement is not the same as reporting to FSD. You must 
notify FSD directly. 

 
Vermont Agency of Education – LICENSING OF EDUCATORS AND THE PREPARATION OF EDUCATIONAL 

PROFESSIONALS (5000)  5440-65 School Nurse Revised (3/20/13) 
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/EDU-Rule-
5440_Supplement_A_Licensing_Endorsements.pdf#page=118 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
http://www.nasn.org/PolicyAdvocacy/PositionPapersandReports/NASNPositionStatementsFullView/tabid/462/smid/824/ArticleID/639/Default.aspx
http://www.nasn.org/PolicyAdvocacy/PositionPapersandReports/NASNPositionStatementsFullView/tabid/462/smid/824/ArticleID/639/Default.aspx
http://dcf.vermont.gov/
http://dcf.staging.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/FSD/Policies/50.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/EDU-Rule-5440_Supplement_A_Licensing_Endorsements.pdf#page=118
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/EDU-Rule-5440_Supplement_A_Licensing_Endorsements.pdf#page=118
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SAMPLE POLICES, PROCEDURES, AND FORMS  
 
 Vermont DCF Child Abuse Reporting Form  
http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/Protection/docs/305-Written-Report.pdf 
 
Vermont Department of Family Services online resources 
http://dcf.vermont.gov/resources 
  
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS- Answers to these and more here:  
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated 
 
 

o “What if my employer has a policy about notifying supervisors or managers about suspected 
child abuse or neglect? 

  Remember that it is the individual mandated reporter who is legally required to make a 
report on time and will be liable if one is not made.” 

 
“’Reasonably suspects abuse or neglect of a child’ means that you need only suspect that abuse or neglect might 
have taken place to make a report.  When in doubt, report!” 
 

o Should I verify the student’s story? Does it meet the definition of abuse or neglect?  
 The school nurse should be sure to verify with the student that the nurse correctly 

understands or restates the student’s story in the words of the student   

http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/Protection/docs/305-Written-Report.pdf
http://dcf.vermont.gov/resources
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated

