Vermont Blood Lead Testing and Reporting Rule 10-044

l. Purpose and Authority

These rules are adopted to assure that all of Vermont’s young children are tested for lead
exposure according to the Commissioner’s Blood Lead Screening Guidelines and that all
blood lead test results are reported to the Vermont Department of Health.

This rule is adopted under authority of Section 1755 of Title 18 of the Vermont Statutes
Annotated.

Il. Blood Lead Testing and Reporting

1. Blood Lead Testing

a. All health care providers who provide primary medical care shall ensure that
patients are tested for lead exposure in accordance with the Commissioner’s
Blood Lead Screening Guidelines, which are incorporated in this rule by
reference.

b. Upon receiving any capillary blood test result indicating an elevated blood
lead level, a health care provider shall confirm the result with a venous blood
lead test in accordance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines.

c. All health care providers who provide primary medical care shall ensure that
parents and guardians of children six years of age or younger are advised of the
availability and advisability of screening and testing their children for lead in
accordance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines.

d. No health care provider shall be liable for not performing a blood lead capillary or
venous test when a parent or guardian has refused to consent or has failed to
follow through in response to a referral for a screening or confirmation testing.

e. If ablood lead capillary or venous test cannot be performed because the child’s
parent or guardian refuses to consent or fails to follow through on a referral for
testing, the health care provider shall record that information in the child’s
medical record, and shall provide the information to the department upon
request.

2. Reporting

a. All health care providers who analyze blood samples for lead levels or who use
laboratories outside Vermont to analyze blood samples for lead levels, shall
report all information required by the department to the department and shall
report to the department by telephone immediately if the result of any analysis is
45 micrograms or more of lead per deciliter of blood and shall report
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electronically within 14 days of the analysis if the results are less than 45
micrograms per deciliter of blood.

b. Any laboratory that analyzes blood samples of Vermont residents for lead levels,
shall report all information required by the department to the department.

c. The report to the department on blood lead test results shall include: Patient’s
first name, middle initial, and last name; sex, race, date of birth of patient; mailing
address; street address if different; parent or guardian name and phone number
if patient is a child; if known, the owner of the residence of the patient; date of
blood draw; type of blood draw (capillary or venous); date blood was analyzed;
test result; health care provider’'s name; and health care provider’s address. If
the patient is 16 years or older, and if known and applicable, the report shall also
include: whether the patient may have been exposed at work, employer’s name,
patient’s job title, and job description.

d. Health care providers and laboratories shall submit reports required by this rule
in a form and format approved by the department.

lll. Compliance

1. Notice of Non-Compliance with Commissioner’'s Guidelines

The department will use its electronic child health information system to monitor
health care providers’ compliance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines for testing one
and two year old children for lead exposure. Based on this monitoring and other
information available to the department, the department may issue a Notice of Non-
Compliance to any health care provider for whom the data available to the
department do not confirm compliance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines for one
or more of the patients under his or her care. The Notice shall include:

a. A copy of the Commissioner’s Guidelines;

b. A list of the health care provider’'s patients for whom the records available to the
department do not confirm that the child has had blood tests for lead exposure in
accordance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines; and

c. Arequest that, within 30 days of the Notice, the health care provider test each
child on the list in accordance with the Commissioner’s Guidelines or report to
the department that child’s parent or guardian refused to consent or failed to
follow through in response to a referral for blood lead testing, or that the child is
not under the provider’s care.

2. Notice of Non-Compliance with Reporting Requirements

The department may issue a Notice of Non-Compliance to any laboratory or health
care provider that fails to report to the department in accordance with the reporting
requirements described in section 11.2 of these rules. The Notice shall include:
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a. A copy of the blood lead test reporting requirements, including a list of required
data elements;

b. A list of children who are missing complete information for required blood lead
tests in accordance with the blood lead testing reporting requirements described
in section I.2; and

c. A requirement to report to the department all required data elements for each
child identified in the Notice within 30 days of the date of the Notice.

3. Enforcement

The department will work with health care providers and laboratories to encourage
voluntary compliance with these rules. In the event that voluntary compliance is not
achieved, the department will enforce these rules through the authority provided
under Title 18 of the Vermont statutes or through a referral to the appropriate board
of professional regulation.



