

# A Parent's Guide to Immunizations Required for Child Care

**July 2024** 

Infectious diseases such as measles, pertussis (whooping cough) and mumps can spread quickly among babies and children who haven't had their shots. That's why it is so important to vaccinate all children according to the recommended schedule.

#### **Protect your child's health**

Vermont law requires that all babies and children are vaccinated before entering a center-based, family, or pre-kindergarten child care program.

#### Vaccines are safe and effective

Children who are fully vaccinated by age 2 are protected against 14 diseases. Vaccinated children, in turn, protect others around them. When too many people are not vaccinated, life-threatening diseases like measles can spread throughout a community. Vaccines are safe and do not cause autism. It is better to get immunity from a vaccine than from having the disease.

#### Is there a recommended schedule for children's vaccination?

Yes, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) develops a recommended vaccination schedule for children. It is important to follow this standard schedule for the best protection from diseases. Delaying vaccinations or following a different or "alternative" schedule is not safe because it puts children and people around them at unnecessary risk of disease. You can find the current schedule on the Health Department's website. Your health care provider will keep track of your child's vaccinations in the Vermont Immunization Registry.

## Which immunizations are required for entry into child care?

Age when enrolling:	Vaccines:
2-3 months	1 each of: DTaP, Hep B, polio, Hib, PCV
4-5 months	2 each of: DTaP, Hep B, polio, Hib, PCV
6-14 months	3 each of: DTaP, Hep B, polio, Hib, PCV
15-17 months	3 each of: DTaP, Hep B, polio 1-4 doses each of: Hib and PCV 1 each of: MMR and varicella
18 months- 4 years	4 DTaP, 3 each of: Hep B and polio 1-4 doses each of Hib and PCV 1 each of: MMR and varicella

Vaccine Abbreviation Guide	
DTaP	diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (whooping cough)
Нер В	hepatitis B
Hib	Haemophilus influenzae type b
Varicella	chickenpox
MMR	measles, mumps, and rubella
PCV	pneumococcal
Polio	Polio (IPV)

## What if I can't afford to vaccinate my child?

In Vermont, the Health Department provides all recommended childhood vaccines to health care providers, free of charge. Providers may charge a small fee to administer vaccines which is typically covered by insurers. Dr. Dynasaur provides low-cost or free health insurance for children. Even children who are already covered by other insurance may qualify for extra benefits from Dr. Dynasaur. For more information call Health Access Member Services for Green Mountain Care at 1-800-250-8427. If you can't locate a health care provider or are uninsured, contact your local district health office.

#### What if I do not have my child's vaccination record?

Your health care provider should be able to print out an up-to-date copy of your child's record. All vaccines given should be recorded by your health care provider in the Vermont Immunization Registry regardless of where your child was vaccinated. It is helpful to keep a copy of your child's immunization record. If you cannot provide a complete vaccination record, your child may be enrolled for now (provisionally). You will then have six months to fully vaccinate your child. With your permission, your child care provider may check the confidential online Immunization Registry to determine if your child is up-to-date.

### When will I have to give records to my child care provider?

You will have to give immunization records at enrollment and annually when your child care provider requests it, usually in the fall. Vermont law requires that child care providers submit a yearly report to the Health Department on the immunization status of enrolled children

### What if my child cannot be vaccinated?

If your child cannot be vaccinated due to medical reasons, have your health care provider complete a medical exemption form and give it to your child care provider. If you have religious objections, you must provide a signed exemption to your child care provider annually. Be aware that children with exemptions may not be allowed to attend child care during a disease outbreak.

## Where can I get more information, forms and materials?

- All forms are available on the Health Department's website: <a href="https://www.healthvermont.gov/">https://www.healthvermont.gov/</a>
- For other questions call your local Health Department office or contact the Immunization Program at 1-800-640-4374 or AHS.VDHImmunizationprogram@vermont.gov