# **CME Tips & Information**

Vermont law requires physicians licensed by the Board of Medical Practice to complete continuing medical education training in each two-year license period. For most licensees, the requirement is 30 hours of AMA PRA Category 1<sup>™</sup> activity. There are two subjects that must be part of the required CME:

- prescribing of controlled substances (<u>2 credits</u> required only for licensees who have or have applied for DEA registration) <u>and</u>
- hospice/palliative care/end-of-life care/pain management (<u>1 credit required for all licensees</u>).

**Please Note:** E credit and P credit is not the same as AMA PRA Category  $1^{TM}$  credit. Click here for hour requirements.

### Here are some things to remember:

1) Know what you are attesting to when you certify that you meet the CME requirements.

Have you completed enough hours and is at least one of the hours on hospice/palliative care/pain management? If you hold a DEA registration, have you completed at least two hours of CME on prescribing controlled substances? If you answer yes to both of those questions, then check the box in the application. If the answer is no, carefully read item 2.

# 2) If you do not meet the requirements, do not certify that you do!

If it's time to renew and you have not completed CME requirements, you can renew. However, to renew, you **must** submit a plan detailing how you will get the credits. Makeup plans are addressed in the <u>rules</u>.

# 3) Keep your documents in a file that you can access.

If you are selected for audit, you will need to provide proof of completion of CMEs. All AMA PRA activities provide certificates of completion. Be sure to request and keep them. If you rely on a course to meet the subject-specific requirements, be sure it's clear from the title or keep a brochure/syllabus.

4) Board certification and recertification alone do not satisfy the requirement.

Some licensees feel that proving evidence of current specialty board certification will suffice. It does not. Those who certify or recertify probably have enough activity to renew a Vermont medical license – again, it's just a matter of getting and keeping track of your AMA PRA Category 1 certificates.

# 5) While there are requirements for CME, <u>no specific class is mandated</u>.

We've seen some misleading advertising that could cause a physician to believe that the course being sold was required and that it was associated with the Board. There is no requirement for a particular course, only the requirements for total hours and the special subjects, as applicable.

#### Special subjects are mandated each licensing cycle. The two subject-specific requirements must be completed for each renewal cycle.

# 7) When you report CME compliance at the time of renewal, you are reporting based on activities completed from the first day of the about-to-end licensing period \*<u>through the day you submit your renewal</u>.

Medical licenses issued by the Board are valid for two years. Renewal licenses are effective from December 1 until November 30 of the second following year; this always occurs in an even-numbered year. If you haven't completed the requirements, but plan to attend a course, simply submit a make-up plan in accordance with the rules. (See #2 above)

# 8) CME courses about medical marijuana do not satisfy the requirement for CME on prescribing controlled substances.

Vermont law provides that qualifying individuals may sign up for a registry and thereby be legally able to possess and use small amounts of marijuana. The program does not involve any prescribing by a physician or other health care provider. Courses on medical marijuana do not meet the requirement for those who have DEA registration to complete two hours of CME on safe prescribing of controlled substances.

### 9) Approved GME training programs

Licensees enrolled in an approved GME program may satisfy part or all of the CME requirement for renewal through successful participation in GME training during the about-to-expire licensing period. See Board Rule 24.2.4 for details.

Whenever you have questions about CME requirements, **contact the Board and ask! Phone: (802) 657-4223 Email: AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov** 



