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INSTRUCTIONS

• Submit the application and fees at least 30 days before you plan to open.

• Fill out the application clearly and completely. It must be signed.  Incomplete applications
will be returned and will                    delay the licensing process.

• Make your check or money order payable to the Vermont
Department of Health. Fees are non-refundable.

• Submit a plan review for all new construction and major
renovations. Refer to the Plan         Review Checklist for
requirements. There is no fee for a plan review.

• Submit a copy of the water/wastewater permit for the
building, or documentation from an engineer in lieu of a
wastewater permit. Contact a regional office if you don’t
have a permit for your project.

• Submit a printed application. Mail the complete application packet to Vermont
Department of Health, Food & Lodging Program.

NEXT STEPS
• After the application is processed, a public health inspector will contact you to

discuss your business details and to schedule a preliminary or opening
inspection.

• A license is issued after passing an opening inspection and is valid for one year
from the date of inspection. The license will be emailed within ten business
days after inspection.

• License application materials are public records as mandated by Vermont law
and may be made available to the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State
or Federal law.

• For questions, call the Food & Lodging Program at 802-863-7221.

Application for License to Operate a   
Lodging Establishment or Children's Camp

Food & Lodging Program
280 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-8350

DON’T FORGET 
TO INCLUDE: 

 Application
 Fees
 Wastewater

documentation

YOU MAY ALSO NEED: 
 Water test results
 Plan review

• You can also apply online at healthvermont.gov/food-lodging.

https://dec.vermont.gov/water/ww-systems#romap
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Business Status 

Planned Opening Date: 

Facility Name (dba) Provide the name as it will be known to the public. 

Name: 

Location Information Provide the physical location of the business. 
Street Address: 

 City:  State:  Zip:

Facility Contact Information Contact information for the facility. Renewal notices will be sent to this 
email and postal address. 

State: Zip: 

Mailing Address: 

Email:  Phone: 

Emergency Contact Provide  an emergency contact in the event of fire, flood, disease outbreak. 

     Name: Title: 

OFFICE USE ONLY
License ID# 

Date Received 
License Fee Amount Received 
Check or Money Order Number 
Public Health Inspector Assigned 
Plan Review REQ       SUB      APP       N/A 

License Issuance Approval Initials Date 

I. Facility Information

 City: 

Inspection Contact Contact for questions about this application and scheduling the inspection.

 Phone:       Email: 

Title: 

 Email: 

Name:

 Phone: 

New – New construction/change in use. A Plan Review is required for new construction. 
Change of Ownership – The space has been licensed as a lodging facility in the past but 
will operate under a new legal entity 

Date of Legal Ownership Change:

Renewal - Renewal of an existing license.



ntity. 

  Limited Partnership           Governmental Entity 

 School 

      State: Zip: 

Email: 

License Categories 

Lodging Capacity 1-10 $130

Lodging Capacity 11-20 $185

Lodging Capacity 21-50 $250

Lodging Capacity 51-200 $390

Lodging Capacity 201+ $1000

Children's Camp $150
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II. Owner Information

III. Operations Information

Nonprofit
Partnership LLC

CorporationCorporation (Inc.)

Sole Proprietorship

Owner Address: 

City: 

Phone: 

Food Service Does the facility serve food other than prepackaged items, whole fruit, and coffee?

Yes          No  

If yes, you must also submit an Application for License to Operate a Food Service 
Establishment. This does not apply to Children's Camps.

Pool and Hot Tub Does the facility have a pool, hot tub, and/or recreational water facility?

Yes          No  

Business Registration What type of entity owns this business?   Please check ONE.

Legal Owner Provide the exact legal name of the   ownership entity as it is registered. 

emily.jarecki
Highlight
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Operating Times:

Hours of operation: 

Days of operation: 

 If seasonal, months of operation: 

Previously Licensed Provide the name of the previously licensed business at this address. 

       Name:  

       Not Applicable/Not Known 

Water Supply Does the establishment receive all or a portion of its water from an onsite well? 

Yes – Include copy of recent coliform/E.coli water test results. 

No – List name of municipal water system: 

WW Permit #: 

Number of lodgers allowed on WW permit: 

Not Applicable:

IV. Physical Location Information

 

Sewage System  Is this establishment serviced by a private sewage system (e.g. septic system)? 

Yes No
Wastewater Capacity  The Department of Environmental Conservation issues a wastewater 
permit for lodging facilities. 

Language Preferences

What languages do you speak?

Do you need an interpreter?

https://dec.vermont.gov/water/ww-systems
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Applicant’s Statement Regarding Child Support and Vermont Taxes 

Under Vermont law, you are required to certify that you are in “good standing” on child support 
payments before you can receive a professional license or other business or trade certification. 
(You can read the law by searching the internet for 15 V.S.A. § 795.) 

Your signature on this application indicates you are in "good standing" on child support because 
one of these applies:  

• You are not required to pay child support.

• You owe less than one month or support.

• You are currently disputing the child support you owe in court.

• You owe child support but are complying with a payment plan.

• This does not apply because it is a business seeking certification.

Under Vermont law, you are required to certify that you are in “good standing” on taxes owed to 
the State of Vermont before you can receive a professional license or other business or trade 
certification. (You can read the law by searching the internet for 32 V.S.A. § 3113.) 

You signature on this application indicates you are in “good standing” with Vermont taxes 
because one of these applies:  

• You have filed all your tax returns and do not owe any taxes.

• You are currently appealing the amount of taxes you owe.

• You owe taxes but are complying with a payment plan with the Commissioner of Taxes.

If you are not in good standing, you can ask the licensing authority to consider whether requiring 
you to become current on child support or Vermont taxes before issuing a license would be an 
unreasonable hardship. 

I hereby certify that I am in good standing with regard to child support and Vermont taxes. I 
further certify that all information stated in this application is true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge. I understand that providing false information or leaving out information is against 
the law and may cause me to lose my license/certification/registration. 

Printed Name:  Date: 

Signature:  Title: 

Tax ID Number OR Social Security Number: 

V. Compliance Certification
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