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Why Support Lactating Employees? 
• Saves money: fewer health insurance claims and lower medical costs 

averaging $400 in annual savings per breastfed baby  
• Reduces employee turnover 
• Lowers employee absenteeism 
• Improves employee productivity 
• Raises employee morale and company loyalty 
• It’s the law 

What Can Employers Do To Support Lactating Employees? 
• Develop policy and determine who oversees this program 
• Inform employees of the new policy 
• Provide a clean, private place with access to electrical outlets and a chair 
• Offer flexible breaks 

• Apply for Breastfeeding Friendly Employer recognition 

• Consider insurance coverage for lactation consultants and breast pumps 

• Consider a corporate lactation program if staff includes a significant number 
of parents 

• Understand the laws  

Vermont State Laws 
Vermont Law Act 117  
• Vermont law (Act 117) provides protection for parents who breastfeed in places of public 

accommodation (schools, restaurants, stores, and other facilities serving the public)  
• For more information contact the Vermont Human Rights Commission (hrc.vermont.gov) 

at 802-828-2480 or toll-free at 800-416-2010 or by email at human.rights@vermont.gov   

Vermont Labor Law Amended 
• Vermont’s labor law was amended in 2008 to include the following: 

Up to 3 years following the baby’s birth,  
o Provide reasonable time, either compensated or uncompensated, throughout the 

day for the employee to express milk, and  
o Make reasonable accommodation to provide appropriate private space that is not 

a bathroom. 
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National Laws 
Federal Law: Break Time for Nursing Mothers  
• Federal law requires employers to provide reasonable break time for an employee to 

express milk for a nursing child for one year after the child's birth each time such 
employee has need to express the milk (Section 7 of the FLSA).  

• Employers are required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from 
view and free from intrusion from  

PUMP Act 
• New law signed in 2022 made several changes to the Break Time for Nursing Mothers 

law. The PUMP for Nursing Mothers Act (PUMP Act):  
o Expands the legal right to receive pumping breaks and private space to many 

more workers including teachers, registered nurses, and farm workers.  
o Clarifies that if employee is not relieved from work duties during the pumping 

break, the pumping time will count as time worked.  
o If employers do not comply with the law, employees can file a complaint and may 

choose to file a lawsuit, including monetary damages, against their employer.  

What Can Employees Do If Their Rights Have Been Violated? 

• An employee who believes their right to express milk has been violated can contact the 
Center for Work Life Law’s free hotline at 415-703-8276 or visit A Better Balance 
(abetterbalance.org/know-your-rights)  

• An employee who believes their right to express milk has been violated should contact the 
Vermont Attorney General, Civil Rights Unit (CRU) at 802-828-3657 or toll-free 888-745-
9195. The CRU may investigate and enforce provisions of the law, and lost wages may be 
recovered.  

• Alternatively, an employee who believes their rights have been violated may make a 
complaint to the Vermont Judicial Bureau through the Vermont Department of Labor, Wage 
and Hour Division at 802-828-0267.  

• The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act providing break time for nursing mothers is enforced 
by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division, 802-951-6283.  

Resources 
• Vermont Department of Health – healthvermont.gov  
• Vermont Department of Labor – labor.vermont.gov  
• Vermont Human Rights Commission – hrc.vermont.gov  
• Vermont Attorney General, Civil Rights Unit – ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights  
• A Better Balance and Center for Work Life Law – abetterbalance.org  Free, confidential 

legal helpline: 1-833-NEED-ABB (1-833-633-3222)  
• Office on Women’s Health – womenshealth.gov 

https://www.abetterbalance.org/
https://www.abetterbalance.org/
https://www.abetterbalance.org/know-your-rights/
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights
https://labor.vermont.gov/rights-and-wages/wage-and-hour
https://labor.vermont.gov/rights-and-wages/wage-and-hour
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/nursing-mothers/law
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd
https://www.healthvermont.gov/
https://labor.vermont.gov/
https://hrc.vermont.gov/
https://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights
https://www.abetterbalance.org/
https://womenshealth.gov/
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