Real Estate Transactions
The Vermont Lead Law was passed in 1996 and updated in 2008 (18 VSA Chapter 38). Effective July 1, 2008, new provisions of the law, 18 V.S.A. § 1767, require sellers to provide lead disclosure information and educational materials approved by the Vermont Department of Health during real estate transactions for all pre-1978 housing, whether owner occupied or rental.
- Vermont Lead Law and Real Estate Transactions
- Seller Responsibilities: Pre-1978 Residential Rental Properties
- Seller Responsibilities: Pre-1978 Owner-occupied Single Family Homes (non-rental)
- Seller Responsibilities: Pre-1978 House that is Certified Lead-free
- Buyer Responsibilities: Pre-1978 Residential Rental Properties
- Summary of Requirements when selling residential rental property (PDF)
- Educational Materials when selling residential rental property
- Essential Maintenance Practices & the Vermont Lead Law (PDF)
- Protect Your Family From Lead in Your Home
- Lead Hazards in Housing (PDF)
- Don’t Spread Lead brochure (PDF)
- Vermont Lead Law Disclosure and EMP Verification Form (PDF)
(Used prior to the time a purchase and sale agreement is executed. Depending upon the circumstances of the sale, may also be needed at time of sale.)
- Summary of Requirements when selling single family home (non-rental) (PDF)
- Educational Materials when selling single family home (non-rental)
- Vermont Lead Law Disclosure Form – Single Family Home (PDF)
(This form will rarely be needed. It is for use only when a single family home is subject to an assurance of discontinuance, administrative order, or court order the terms of which are not completed.)
- Vermont Lead Law Disclosure Form – Lead-free Property (PDF)
(This form will be used infrequently. It is for use when residential housing has been certified lead-free by a Vermont licensed lead inspector or lead risk assessor, who has conducted an inspection using an XRF machine, and the results have been sent to the Vermont Department of Health.)
For rental properties built before 1978, if the property is not in compliance with the Vermont Lead Law at the time of sale:
- The buyer must bring the property into full EMP compliance within 60 days of closing, unless an extension of time is granted by the Commissioner of Health. A request for an extension may be filed in writing with the Commissioner of Health, PO Box 70, Burlington, VT 05402-0070 and must be submitted at least 10 days before the due date. The commissioner may grant the request only for good cause.
- Failure to comply with this requirement carries a mandatory civil penalty.